ARX Alpha Adaptive Resistance Machine
ARX's smaller machine: six exercises on a guided sled, the same motorized adaptive resistance and software as the Omni, in 21 square feet.
Lifespan Vault earns an affiliate commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change our rankings or our verdicts.
QUICK VERDICT
ARX's smaller machine at $43,000: six movements on a guided sled, the same motor-matched resistance and per-rep force data as the $46,000 Omni, in the smallest footprint ARX makes.
Price: $43,000 · Verified: 2026-09-17
ARX's smaller machine at $43,000: six movements on a guided sled, the same motor-matched resistance and per-rep force data as the $46,000 Omni, in the smallest footprint ARX makes.
ARX builds two machines in Austin, Texas, and the Alpha is the smaller one. In place of a weight stack, a computer-controlled motor pushes back with exactly the force you produce at every point in the rep, including the lowering, or eccentric, phase ARX says weights cannot load. On the Alpha that resistance rides on a guided sled that keeps every rep on one path, across six exercises: leg press, chest press, row, calf raise, torso flexion and torso extension. ARX calls it a complete full-body workout in about 15 minutes, twice a week, and its easiest machine to learn at any skill level.
The footprint is 21 square feet, 32 by 94 by 66 inches, and the machine weighs 655 pounds. It needs 110V on a dedicated 20A circuit or 220V on a dedicated 15A circuit, and ARX states its machines are not compatible with GFCI outlets. Against the Omni, the Alpha gives up ten exercises and the cable system's grips and attachments, and in ARX's own words is faster through all of them. It costs $3,000 less.
The hardware price is $43,000. The software is a separate subscription, identical on both machines: $200 a month for home use, $400 a month commercial, with lifetime licenses available. It records total force, max force in both directions, rep speed, range of motion, intensity, exercise time and fatigue to a dashboard. ARX quotes third-party financing at about $1,200 a month; that is a lender payment, not the price. New machines include a one-year warranty, a two-to-four-week lead time and the ARX Certified Course, and the purchase runs through a Talk to ARX call.
Be clear whose numbers these are. The figures ARX leads with, twice the muscle gain, 90 percent greater strength gain, 2.5 times the fat loss, 3.5 times the cardiovascular improvement, in 72 percent less training time, come from a 12-week Western Colorado University study commissioned by the American Council on Exercise in 2021. That is the brand's cited study; we have not tested an Alpha. ARX's XPRIZE Healthspan involvement has not reported results, and "trusted by Tony Robbins, Dave Asprey and Ben Greenfield" is ARX's line, not ours.
Who it suits is narrower than the marketing. This is a $43,000 single-purpose machine with a monthly software bill, a dedicated circuit and 655 pounds to site, and ARX itself concedes that barbells win on cost and track record and teach you to balance and stabilize real loads. If six guided movements and per-rep force data in the smallest ARX footprint are the point, this is the machine; for the full exercise library, the Omni is.
Home buyers who want ARX's motor-matched resistance and per-rep force data in the smallest footprint ARX makes, and who will use six guided movements rather than a full cable library. ARX names studios running clients back-to-back, athletes in season and busy professionals.
You want the Omni's wider exercise list, grips and attachments, you cannot give the machine a dedicated 20A (110V) or 15A (220V) non-GFCI circuit, or you are not ready for $43,000 in hardware plus $200 a month in software on top.
Specifications
Most often compared with
Where this fits
ARX Alpha cross-shops across several editorial surfaces on this site: the full brand catalog, the price band it qualifies for and the in-depth guides for its category.
ARX Alpha - buyer FAQ
ARX Alpha vs ARX Omni: which machine?
Same motor-matched resistance, same software, different delivery. The Alpha runs six exercises (leg press, chest press, row, calf raise, torso flexion, torso extension) on a guided sled in 21 square feet at 655 pounds, and ARX designed it to be the most space-efficient of its machines and the easiest to learn. The Omni runs sixteen exercises through a cable system with clip-on handles and attachments in 37 square feet at 680 pounds. Published hardware prices are $43,000 and $46,000. If you want belt squat, deadlift or Romanian deadlift, only the Omni has them.
What does an ARX Alpha cost to own, beyond the $43,000?
The $43,000 is the hardware purchase price ARX publishes for the Alpha. Software is separate and required: $200 a month for home use or $400 a month commercial, with lifetime licenses available. ARX quotes third-party financing at about $1,200 a month and does not finance in-house; a lender payment is never the price. The machine needs its own 110V 20A or 220V 15A circuit, so budget an electrician. A complimentary one-year warranty, the ARX Certified Course, and delivery and install arranged with ARX come with every new machine, and the purchase itself runs through a Talk to ARX call.
Is the ARX study independent proof that 15 minutes twice a week works?
Treat it as the brand's cited evidence, not ours. The numbers ARX quotes, 2 times the muscle gain, 90 percent greater strength gain, 2.5 times the fat loss, 3.5 times the cardiovascular improvement and 72 percent less training time, come from one 12-week study at Western Colorado University commissioned by the American Council on Exercise in 2021 and published in the International Journal of Research in Exercise Physiology, comparing ARX with moderate-intensity weight training. ARX also cites a 2023 Sports Medicine review and its use in the XPRIZE Healthspan training arm, which has not reported results. We have not tested an Alpha.
Can I buy a used ARX Alpha from a third party?
You can, but ARX strongly discourages it and the reasons are structural. The software license is non-transferable, and without an active license the machine will not run at all: no workout, no force data. ARX reviews every serial number individually before it will sell a new license, not every machine qualifies, the warranty ends when the machine changes hands, resale buyers must complete ARX Certified Training before use, and moving the machine requires consulting ARX. ARX asks buyers to submit the serial number for verification before money moves, and keeps a waitlist for used machines it sells directly.
What space, power and help does an ARX Alpha need at home?
Space is 21 square feet, 32 by 94 by 66 inches, and the machine weighs 655 pounds, so plan the floor and the route in. Power is 110V on a dedicated 20A circuit or 220V on a dedicated 15A circuit; every machine ships with a power supply set to your outlet voltage at install, and ARX states its machines are not compatible with GFCI outlets. You do not need a partner: ARX says all its machines can be programmed and controlled by the software so you can train alone, and personal onboarding through ARX Academy comes with the machine.
