Lifespan Vault earns an affiliate commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change our rankings or our verdicts.
Prices and specs below come from ARX's published machine page as recorded in our catalog, verified 2026-09-17. ARX sells two machines, the ARX Alpha at $43,000 and the ARX Omni at $46,000, and the pitch for both is the same: a full-body strength session in about 15 minutes, twice a week, with a motor in place of a weight stack and a dashboard that records the force of every rep. Whether that is worth it at home comes down to whether you are one of the buyers ARX itself names, because the machine is built for a narrower profile than the marketing suggests.
The direct answer: ARX is worth considering if you have the money set aside, you value time more than the feel of a barbell, and you want strength training you cannot skip because it sits 21 or 37 square feet from your desk. The Alpha fits the busy professional and the in-season athlete who wants six guided movements and the shortest session. The Omni fits the home-gym owner replacing a room of equipment with one machine. If you enjoy free weights and have the hours for them, keep the barbell, and ARX would not argue with you: in its own materials it concedes that barbells win on cost and track record and teach you to balance and stabilize real loads.
Quick answer
- Busy professional with 21 square feet to spare: the ARX Alpha at $43,000, six guided movements on a sled and the fastest ARX session.
- Home-gym owner replacing a room of equipment: the ARX Omni at $46,000, sixteen cable exercises including belt squat, deadlift and Romanian deadlift.
- Athlete in season, or a studio running clients back to back: the ARX Alpha at $43,000, the machine ARX designed to be easiest to learn at any skill level.
At a glance
| Machine | Hardware price (verified) | Exercises | Footprint and weight | Power | Software |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ARX Alpha | $43,000 (verified 2026-09-17) | 6 on a guided sled | 21 sq ft, 655 lb | Dedicated 110V 20A or 220V 15A, no GFCI | $200/mo home, $400/mo commercial |
| ARX Omni | $46,000 (verified 2026-09-17) | 16 on a cable system | 37 sq ft, 680 lb | Dedicated 110V 20A or 220V 15A, no GFCI | $200/mo home, $400/mo commercial |
Both machines are designed and manufactured in Austin, Texas, ship with a complimentary one-year warranty, a typical two to four week lead time and the ARX Certified Course, and are sold through a Talk to ARX call rather than a checkout. We have not tested either machine, and every outcome figure in this piece is ARX's, attributed as such.
What ARX is actually selling
In place of a weight stack, a computer-controlled motor pushes back with exactly the force you produce at every point in the rep. ARX's argument is that this loads the lowering, or eccentric, phase in a way it says weights cannot, and that it removes the decision of how much to load: the machine matches whatever you give it, so every rep is as hard as you make it. On the Alpha that resistance rides on a guided sled that keeps each rep on one path across six exercises: leg press, chest press, row, calf raise, torso flexion and torso extension. On the Omni it runs through a cable system with clip-on handles and attachments, which is how one machine covers sixteen exercises: belt squat, deadlift, Romanian deadlift, hamstring curl, calf raise, horizontal press, incline press, decline press, overhead press, pec fly, pulldown, pullover, row, high pull, biceps curl and triceps pressdown. ARX says the Omni does the work of 10 or more machines.
The software is the other half of the product, and it is not optional. It is a separate subscription, identical on both machines, at $200 a month for home use or $400 a month commercial, with lifetime licenses available at a price that is not in our verified data. It programs the session, and ARX says any rep scheme runs on it: standard, negative-only, positive-only, static, time-under-tension and partial-range sets, with adjustable rep speed, set, pause and rest times. It records total force, max force in both the concentric and eccentric directions, rep speed, range of motion, intensity, exercise time and fatigue to an online dashboard. ARX says all of its machines can be programmed and controlled by the software so you can train alone, and personal onboarding through ARX Academy comes with the machine.
Whose numbers the 15 minutes rests on
The schedule in the title is ARX's: about 15 minutes, full body, twice a week, with the note in ARX's own specs that most users train one to two times a week. The outcome figures ARX leads with, twice the muscle gain, 90 percent greater strength gain, 2.5 times the fat loss and 3.5 times the cardiovascular improvement in 72 percent less training time, come from a 12-week study at Western Colorado University commissioned by the American Council on Exercise in 2021 and later published in the International Journal of Research in Exercise Physiology. ARX reports that its group trained twice a week for 15 minutes against a moderate-intensity weight training group at 45 minutes three times a week. ARX also cites a 2023 Sports Medicine review and its role in the XPRIZE Healthspan training arm, which has not reported results.
Those are the brand's figures from the brand's cited study. We have not tested an Alpha or an Omni, and one commissioned 12-week study is a reason to take the schedule seriously, not proof that it will hold for you. The line ARX uses about being trusted by Tony Robbins, Dave Asprey and Ben Greenfield is ARX's, not ours.
Who ARX names, and whether the schedule fits them
ARX is unusually specific about its buyers, and the profiles are worth reading against your own week rather than against the study.
For the Alpha, ARX names busy professionals, athletes in season and studios running clients back to back. The common thread is that the session has to be short, repeatable and hard to get wrong. Six movements on a guided sled means there is no bar path to learn and no plates to change, and ARX calls the Alpha its easiest machine to learn at any skill level, its most space-efficient, and, in its own words, faster through all of its exercises than the Omni. If your strength training currently fails because the 45-minute version never happens, a 15-minute version 21 square feet from your office is a different proposition, and that is the buyer this machine was designed around.
For the Omni, ARX names founders building a studio around one machine, clinics that need movement-specific loading, and home-gym owners replacing a room of equipment. That last profile is the home buyer to take seriously. If you already own a rack, a cable stack, a leg press and a bench and you are tired of the room they take, the Omni's sixteen exercises in 37 square feet is the consolidation argument, and it is the only ARX machine with belt squat, deadlift and Romanian deadlift on the list.
The profile ARX does not name is the person who likes lifting. Nothing about a motor-matched sled replaces the skill and the feel of a loaded bar, and ARX does not claim it does.
What ARX itself concedes
The most useful line in ARX's own materials is the concession: barbells win on cost and track record, and they teach you to balance and stabilize real loads. Read that as the boundary of the product. ARX is not arguing that its machine is a better way to get strong than a barbell for everyone. It is arguing that for a buyer whose constraint is time, or space, or loading a hard rep alone without a spotter, a motor that matches your output is a better fit than iron. If your constraint is money, the concession settles it.
There are also concessions in the ownership terms. The software license is non-transferable, and without an active license the machine will not run at all: no workout and no force data. ARX reviews every serial number individually before it will sell a new license to a resale buyer, not every machine qualifies, the warranty ends when the machine changes hands, resale buyers must complete ARX Certified Training before use, and moving the machine requires consulting ARX. ARX strongly discourages third-party purchases and keeps a waitlist for used machines it sells directly. A $43,000 machine with a thin resale path is a different financial decision from a rack you can sell on a weekend.
The real cost of owning one at home
The hardware price is the number ARX publishes: $43,000 for the Alpha and $46,000 for the Omni, both verified 2026-09-17. ARX quotes about $1,200 a month through third-party lenders and does not finance in-house; the lender's term is not in our verified data, and a lender payment is never the price. Software adds $200 a month for home use, which is $2,400 a year on top of the hardware for as long as you own it, unless you buy a lifetime license at a price ARX does not publish on the page we verified.
Then there is the room. Both machines need 110V on a dedicated 20A circuit or 220V on a dedicated 15A circuit, ship with a power supply set to your outlet voltage at install, and are not compatible with GFCI outlets per ARX. For most homes that is an electrician visit before delivery, at a cost that is not in our verified data. The Alpha is 21 square feet, 32 by 94 by 66 inches, and weighs 655 pounds; the Omni is 37 square feet, 42 by 128 by 90 inches, and weighs 680 pounds. ARX does not state which dimension is which, so confirm ceiling height and the doorway route on the Talk to ARX call. Delivery and install are arranged with ARX, and the typical lead time is two to four weeks from order.
Where the ARX Alpha gives ground
The Alpha gives up ten exercises and the cable system's grips and attachments. There is no belt squat, no deadlift, no Romanian deadlift, no overhead press and no pulldown on the list. Six guided movements cover a full-body session, and they cover it the way a machine circuit does, on one fixed path per exercise, which removes the balancing and stabilizing work ARX itself says barbells teach. That is the point for a busy professional and a limitation for anyone who wants variety or free-path movement. It is also a $43,000 machine that does six things; if you find yourself wanting the seventh, the Omni is $3,000 more and 16 square feet larger, and there is no Alpha-to-Omni upgrade path in our verified data.
Where the ARX Omni gives ground
The Omni gives ground on the two things the Alpha is best at. It is bigger, at 37 square feet and 680 pounds, which is closer to a small room than a corner. And ARX itself says the Alpha is faster through its exercises and easier to learn; sixteen cable movements with clip-on attachments mean more setup between exercises and more to get right, and a session that drifts past 15 minutes is a session the schedule buyer starts skipping. The Omni is the machine for a buyer who will use the library. If six movements would do, you are paying $3,000 and 16 square feet for a list you will not finish.
Alpha or Omni, if you have settled on ARX
Adaptive resistance is the technology both share, not a model name, and the software and what it measures are identical on both. The choice is exercise range against footprint. If the full library matters, and especially if belt squat, deadlift or Romanian deadlift are non-negotiable, it is the Omni at $46,000 in 37 square feet. If six guided movements and the smallest ARX footprint are the point, it is the Alpha at $43,000 in 21 square feet. Both run the same $200 a month home software, so the ongoing cost does not separate them.
Verdicts by buyer type
- Busy professional whose training keeps not happening: the ARX Alpha. Six movements, one path each, and ARX's shortest session, 21 square feet from wherever you work. The schedule fits because it removes the reasons to skip.
- Athlete in season: the Alpha again, for the same reasons, with the caveat that ARX's claim about loading the eccentric phase is ARX's; run it past your own coach before it replaces anything in your program.
- Home-gym owner replacing a room of equipment: the ARX Omni. Sixteen exercises, the only ARX with belt squat and deadlift, and a footprint that consolidates a rack, a cable stack and a leg press into 37 square feet.
- Founder building a studio, or a clinic that needs movement-specific loading: the Omni, budgeted at $400 a month for the commercial software rather than $200.
- Lifter who enjoys free weights and has the hours: keep the barbell. ARX concedes this one. Our all-in-one home gym comparison and the Best Home Gym Equipment guide cover racks and cable trainers at a fraction of the price.
- Buyer who wants to own the machine outright with no monthly bill: neither, unless the lifetime license price ARX quotes on the call works for you. Our roundup of smart home gyms without a subscription is the alternative shortlist.
- Bargain hunter eyeing a used unit: pause. The license does not transfer, the machine will not run without one, and ARX reviews every serial number before selling a new license. Have ARX verify the serial before money moves.
Bottom line
ARX is worth it for the buyers ARX names and not for the ones it does not. If your binding constraint is time or space and you have $43,000 to $46,000 plus $200 a month set aside, the Alpha or the Omni turns strength training into a 15-minute appointment you can keep, on ARX's schedule and with ARX's cited evidence behind it. If your constraint is cost, or you like the bar in your hands, ARX's own concession that barbells win on cost and track record is the answer. Read the ARX brand page before the call, and ask about the lifetime license and the dedicated circuit first.
Is ARX worth it for a home gym?
For the buyers ARX names, yes: busy professionals, in-season athletes and home-gym owners replacing a room of equipment, with $43,000 to $46,000 plus $200 a month in software set aside. For a lifter who enjoys free weights and has the hours, no, and ARX itself concedes that barbells win on cost and track record.
How much does an ARX machine really cost to own at home?
The published hardware prices are $43,000 for the Alpha and $46,000 for the Omni, verified 2026-09-17. Software is a required separate subscription at $200 a month for home use, which is $2,400 a year. ARX quotes about $1,200 a month through third-party lenders, but that is a lender payment, not the price. Budget an electrician for the dedicated circuit.
Does 15 minutes twice a week on an ARX actually work?
It rests on one study ARX cites and we have not replicated: a 12-week Western Colorado University study commissioned by the American Council on Exercise in 2021. ARX reports its group trained 15 minutes twice a week against 45 minutes three times a week and came out with 2 times the muscle gain and 90 percent greater strength gain. Those are ARX's figures, not ours.
What space and power does an ARX need at home?
The Alpha needs 21 square feet and weighs 655 pounds; the Omni needs 37 square feet and weighs 680 pounds. Both need 110V on a dedicated 20A circuit or 220V on a dedicated 15A circuit, and ARX states its machines are not compatible with GFCI outlets. Delivery and install are arranged with ARX, with a typical two to four week lead time from order.
Can I save money by buying a used ARX from a third party?
Rarely, and ARX strongly discourages it. The software license is non-transferable and the machine will not run without one, so a used $43,000 Alpha or $46,000 Omni only runs if ARX sells a new license. ARX reviews every serial number, not every machine qualifies, the 1-year warranty ends on transfer, and resale buyers must complete ARX Certified Training. Have ARX verify the serial before money moves.
The Longevity Gear Buyer's Checklist
The specs that actually decide whether a sauna, cold plunge, red light panel, or smart ring is worth it, plus the real price range for each. Get the free PDF, plus one weekly email on the gear worth buying.