Skip to content
Independent·Affiliate-disclosed·Spec-verified·Prices tracked daily
arx · home-gym · strength

ARX Alpha vs Omni: Which Machine Fits Your Space

ARX Alpha vs Omni: $43,000 for six sled exercises in 21 sq ft, or $46,000 for sixteen cable exercises in 37 sq ft, on the same motor and software.

By Ryan · Founder
Published Sep 18, 2026 · 13 min read
ARX Alpha vs Omni: Which Machine Fits Your Space
Pillar guide
For the full landscape, read Best Home Gym Equipment

Lifespan Vault earns an affiliate commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change our rankings or our verdicts.

ARX builds two machines in Austin, Texas, and they share almost everything that makes an ARX an ARX: the computer-controlled motor that pushes back with exactly the force you produce at every point in the rep, the software subscription that records force on every rep, the dedicated circuit, the one-year warranty and the ARX Certified Course. What separates the ARX Alpha at $43,000 (verified 2026-09-17) from the ARX Omni at $46,000 (verified 2026-09-17) is how that resistance reaches you and how much floor it takes to do it. The Alpha runs six exercises on a guided sled in 21 square feet at 655 pounds. The Omni runs sixteen exercises through a cable system with clip-on handles and attachments in 37 square feet at 680 pounds.

So the direct answer: if six guided movements cover the training you will actually do and the room is tight, the Alpha saves $3,000 and 16 square feet and is the machine ARX calls its easiest to learn. If you want the deadlift, the Romanian deadlift, the belt squat or any of the other movements only the Omni lists, or you want grips and attachments to vary, the Omni is the only ARX that has them. The adaptive resistance, the software and what it measures are identical on both, so the technology is not the deciding variable. The exercise list and the footprint are. Two disclosures: ARX is not an affiliate partner, so we earn nothing whichever machine you choose and the ARX links on this page go to our own catalog entries; and we have not tested either machine, so every figure below is ARX's published number, verified 2026-09-17, or ARX's own statement.

Quick answer

  • Home buyer short on floor space: the ARX Alpha at $43,000 (verified 2026-09-17), six guided-sled movements in 21 square feet, the smallest footprint ARX makes.
  • Buyer who wants the full ARX library: the ARX Omni at $46,000 (verified 2026-09-17), sixteen cable exercises including belt squat, deadlift and Romanian deadlift, none of which the Alpha lists.
  • Studio running clients back to back: the ARX Alpha at $43,000, because ARX's own words, setting the Alpha against the Omni, are that it is faster through all of them, and the sled keeps every rep on one path.

ARX Alpha vs Omni at a glance

MachineVerified priceExercisesHow resistance is deliveredFootprintWeightSoftware
ARX Alpha$43,000, verified 2026-09-176Guided sled21 sq ft, 32 x 94 x 66 in655 lb$200/mo home, $400/mo commercial
ARX Omni$46,000, verified 2026-09-1716Cable system, clip-on handles and attachments37 sq ft, 42 x 128 x 90 in680 lb$200/mo home, $400/mo commercial

Both prices are the hardware figures ARX publishes on its machines page. There is no checkout; the purchase runs through a Talk to ARX call. Neither figure includes the software, the electrician or the financing ARX quotes at about $1,200 a month through third-party lenders, which is a lender payment and never the price.

What both machines share

Start with what does not change, because it is most of the machine. In place of a weight stack, a computer-controlled motor matches the force you produce at every point in the rep, including the lowering, or eccentric, phase that ARX says weights cannot load. ARX describes the workout on both as about 15 minutes, full body, twice a week. The rep-scheme list ARX publishes, standard, negative-only, positive-only, static, time-under-tension and partial-range, is one it publishes for the Omni; ARX says the software is identical on both machines, but our verified data does not carry that list for the Alpha, so we attribute it to the Omni only.

The software is a separate subscription and it is identical on both: $200 a month for home use, $400 a month commercial, with lifetime licenses available per the site. It records total force, max force in both directions, rep speed, range of motion, intensity, exercise time and fatigue to an online dashboard, and ARX says you can train alone on either machine.

Power is the same on both: 110V on a dedicated 20A circuit or 220V on a dedicated 15A circuit, and ARX states its machines are not compatible with GFCI outlets. Every new machine comes with a complimentary one-year warranty, a typical two-to-four-week lead time, delivery and install arranged with ARX, and the ARX Certified Course. If you are buying an ARX for the motor and the force data, you get the same motor and the same data at either price, which is why this comparison is about exercises and floor space and nothing else.

The two exercise lists, side by side

ARX publishes six exercises for the Alpha: leg press, chest press, row, calf raise, torso flexion and torso extension. It publishes sixteen for the Omni: belt squat, deadlift, Romanian deadlift, hamstring curl, calf raise, horizontal press, incline press, decline press, overhead press, pec fly, pulldown, pullover, row, high pull, biceps curl and triceps pressdown. ARX says the Omni does the work of 10+ machines, and that its cable system allows more exercises and more types of grips than the sled.

The net count is ten fewer on the Alpha, sixteen against six; by name the gap is wider. Only two names appear on both lists, row and calf raise, so fourteen of the Omni's sixteen exercises have no match on the Alpha by name: the lower-body work (belt squat, deadlift, Romanian deadlift and hamstring curl), the pulls (pulldown, pullover and high pull), the pressing work (horizontal press, incline press, decline press, overhead press and pec fly) and the arm isolation work (biceps curl and triceps pressdown). ARX lists the Alpha's leg press and chest press under their own names rather than as sled versions of anything on the Omni, and we have not tested either machine, so we count by name and leave how close those movements are to the call. If your training is built around a hinge and a vertical pull, the Alpha does not have them.

Run the comparison the other way and the Alpha lists two movements the Omni does not: torso flexion and torso extension. Whether the Omni's cable system can be set up to load those patterns is not in our verified data, so if trunk flexion and extension under motor-matched load is the reason you are looking at ARX, ask on the call rather than assume.

Footprint and siting

The Alpha occupies 21 square feet at 32 by 94 by 66 inches. The Omni occupies 37 square feet at 42 by 128 by 90 inches. ARX does not state which dimension is which, so take the longest figure as the one that has to clear a doorway, a hallway turn and a basement stair on the way in. The weight gap is smaller than the size gap: 655 pounds for the Alpha, 680 pounds for the Omni. Either one is a rigging job, not a two-person carry, and ARX arranges delivery and install with every new machine.

The 16-square-foot difference is a four-by-four patch of floor, and in a spare bedroom it is the difference between a walkway around the machine and edging past it. The Omni's 128-inch figure, if that is its length, is just under eleven feet, so measure the wall before the call. ARX describes the Alpha as the most space-efficient of its machines and the easiest to learn at any skill level, and the guided sled is the reason for both: every rep runs on one path, so there is nothing to stabilize.

Both need their own non-GFCI circuit, so budget the electrician before delivery; that work is the same whichever machine you choose.

Cost of ownership past the sticker

The $3,000 gap between $43,000 and $46,000 is the only place the two machines differ in cost. The software is $200 a month for home use or $400 a month commercial on both, with lifetime licenses available; over five years at the home rate that is $12,000 on top of either machine. ARX does not finance in-house; it quotes about $1,200 a month through third-party lenders, and a lender payment is not the price, so compare the hardware figure.

The used market deserves a paragraph because it is where the $3,000 gap tempts people. ARX strongly discourages third-party used purchases, and the reasons are structural: the software license is non-transferable, and without an active license the machine will not run at all. ARX reviews every serial number individually before it will sell a new license, not every machine qualifies, the warranty ends when the machine changes hands, and resale buyers must complete ARX Certified Training before use. Submit the serial number to ARX for verification before money moves. A used Omni that cannot be relicensed is a 680-pound sculpture.

Where the Alpha gives ground

The Alpha's whole case is that six guided movements are enough, and for a large share of buyers they are not. There is no hinge on it: no deadlift, no Romanian deadlift, no hamstring curl. There is no vertical pull: no pulldown, no pullover, no high pull. There is one pressing movement, the chest press, where the Omni lists four pressing angles plus a fly. There is no arm isolation work. If your program uses any of those, you either accept that the ARX covers part of it and free weights cover the rest, or you buy the Omni.

The sled cuts both ways. It is why ARX calls the Alpha its easiest machine to learn and why, set against the Omni, ARX's own words are that it is faster through all of them, but a single path means the machine, not you, handles balance and stabilization. ARX itself concedes that barbells win on cost and track record and teach you to balance and stabilize real loads. The Omni's cable system gives some of that back through grips and attachments you have to control; the Alpha gives none of it back. And the Alpha is still a $43,000 single-purpose machine with a $200-a-month software bill, a dedicated circuit and 655 pounds to site, so the saving over the Omni is real but small against the total.

Where the Omni gives ground

The Omni's case is the library, and the library costs floor, learning time and $3,000. At 37 square feet and 42 by 128 by 90 inches it is close to double the Alpha's footprint, and the longest dimension is what decides whether it fits the room you have in mind. Clip-on handles and attachments are, by ARX's description, how the cable system reaches sixteen exercises and more types of grips, and ARX's own words, setting the Alpha against the Omni, are that the Alpha is faster through all of them. Read those two statements together: range on the Omni comes with more to set up than a sled that runs six movements on one path.

Sixteen exercises is also not the same as sixteen you will use. ARX says the workout is about 15 minutes twice a week on either machine, so the extra movements are options across sessions, not additions to each one; a buyer who runs the same six-movement circuit every time is paying $3,000 and 16 square feet for options that stay on the menu. And the Omni is a $46,000 single-purpose machine with the same monthly software bill, the same non-GFCI circuit and 680 pounds to move in, so ARX's concession about barbells applies here too.

Whose numbers these are

The figures ARX leads with for both machines, twice the muscle gain, 90 percent greater strength gain, 2.5 times the fat loss and 3.5 times the cardiovascular improvement in 72 percent less training time, come from one 12-week study at Western Colorado University, commissioned by the American Council on Exercise in 2021, comparing ARX at 15 minutes twice a week with moderate-intensity weight training at 45 minutes three times a week. Those are the brand's figures from the brand's cited study. ARX also cites a 2023 Sports Medicine review and its XPRIZE Healthspan involvement, which has not reported results. We have not tested either machine, and nothing in that study distinguishes one model from the other, so it cannot help you choose between them. The line about Tony Robbins, Dave Asprey and Ben Greenfield is ARX's, not ours.

Verdicts by buyer type

  • Home gym with a tight room: the ARX Alpha at $43,000. Twenty-one square feet fits where 37 does not, the six movements cover a press, a row, a leg drive, calves and trunk work, and you keep the identical motor, software and force data.
  • Home gym replacing a room of equipment: the ARX Omni at $46,000. ARX names home-gym owners replacing a room of equipment for this machine, and the sixteen-exercise list with grips and attachments is the only ARX that can stand in for a hinge, a vertical pull and four pressing angles.
  • Studio running clients back to back: the Alpha. ARX names studios running clients back-to-back, athletes in season and busy professionals for it, and ARX's own words that the Alpha, set against the Omni, is faster through all of them are the throughput case.
  • Founder building a studio around one machine, or a clinic that needs movement-specific loading: the Omni. Those are the buyers ARX names for it, and the cable system is the reason: sixteen movements and grip variety on one footprint.
  • Buyer who cannot yet give either machine a dedicated non-GFCI circuit and a rigging path for 655 or 680 pounds: neither, until the room is ready. The circuit, the delivery and the install are the same job on both.

What an ARX is not

An ARX is a strength machine, not a cardio or recovery station, and at this price it is a single-purpose purchase rather than a full gym. Our Best Home Gym Equipment 2026 guide sorts home gym machines by the job each one does at prices far below this tier, and our all-in-one home gym comparison runs the loaded-cost math on digital cable trainers and Smith machines, the same exercise to run on an ARX's software bill. If the subscription is the sticking point, our smart home gym with no subscription piece covers machines that charge zero. Within the ultra-premium tier, the machine our catalog pairs with ARX is the Vasper Pro, a 21-minute seated conditioning and recovery system; it is a different category, not a rival, installs that want both usually run both, and Vasper is not an affiliate partner either. Every ARX product we track is on the ARX brand hub.

If $43,000 is not the budget but digital cable resistance is the idea, the Speediance Gym Monster 2 at $3,272 to $4,649 across bundles (verified 2026-08-14) is where our all-in-one comparison starts: up to 220 pounds of cable load, with core training that needs no subscription. It is a different tier, not an ARX rival, and unlike the ARX links above it is an affiliate link.

Bottom line

The ARX Alpha and Omni are the same motor, the same software and the same force data at two footprints and two exercise lists, $43,000 and $46,000 (both verified 2026-09-17), $3,000 and 16 square feet apart. Choose the Alpha if six guided movements are the training you will do and the room is measured in inches on its short side. Choose the Omni if the deadlift, the vertical pull, the pressing angles or the grips are the point, and you have 37 square feet and a clear path for 128 inches of machine. Either way, budget the dedicated circuit, the $200 or $400 monthly software and the Talk to ARX call before you budget the hardware.

Frequently asked

Is the ARX Omni worth $3,000 more than the Alpha?

Only if you will use what the extra $3,000 buys: ten more exercises on ARX's count, including the deadlift, Romanian deadlift, hamstring curl, pulldown and four pressing angles, plus clip-on handles and attachments. The motor, the $200 or $400 monthly software and the force data are identical, so a buyer running six guided movements gets nothing extra from the $46,000 Omni over the $43,000 Alpha.

How much space do the ARX Alpha and Omni need?

The Alpha needs 21 square feet at 32 by 94 by 66 inches and weighs 655 pounds. The Omni needs 37 square feet at 42 by 128 by 90 inches and weighs 680 pounds. ARX does not state which dimension is which, so measure the doorway and the route in against the longest figure, and plan a rigged delivery, which ARX arranges with every new machine.

Do the ARX Alpha and Omni run the same software?

Yes. The subscription is identical on both machines: $200 a month for home use, $400 a month for commercial use, with lifetime licenses available per ARX. It records total force, max force in the concentric and eccentric directions, rep speed, range of motion, intensity, exercise time and fatigue to an online dashboard, and ARX says a session can run without a trainer on either machine.

What electrical work does an ARX machine need at home?

Both machines need their own circuit: 110V on a dedicated 20A circuit or 220V on a dedicated 15A circuit, and each ships with a power supply set to your outlet voltage at install. ARX states its machines are not compatible with GFCI outlets, so budget an electrician before delivery. The requirement is the same for the $43,000 Alpha and the $46,000 Omni.

Can I save money buying a used ARX Alpha or Omni?

ARX strongly discourages it. The software license is non-transferable, and without an active license the 655- or 680-pound machine will not run at all. ARX reviews every serial number before selling a new license, not every machine qualifies, the warranty ends on resale, and buyers must complete ARX Certified Training before use. Submit the serial number to ARX for verification before any money moves.

Free guide · Weekly drop

The Longevity Gear Buyer's Checklist

The specs that actually decide whether a sauna, cold plunge, red light panel, or smart ring is worth it, plus the real price range for each. Get the free PDF, plus one weekly email on the gear worth buying.

If you purchase an independently reviewed product or service through a link on our website, Lifespan Vault may receive an affiliate commission.

One email a week. Unsubscribe anytime. We never sell your data.